March Staff Recommendations

Come on by your favorite MPL location and enjoy the latest selection of books, CD’s and DVD’s recommended by our dedicated staff!


March Staff Recommendations

Fiction

  • Lily and the Octopus, by Steven Rowley. [Main Library] “A great book for anyone who has lost a pet. It’s a bit silly and a bit fantastic– talking dogs, evil octopuses, a journey at sea– but also heartbreakingly real. It helped me along recovering from my own loss, and I hope it helps others, too.” ~Heather

Science Fiction

  • Who’s Afraid of Beowulf?, by Tom Holt. [Main Library] “A lighthearted comic fantasy – recommended for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.” ~Robert B.
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch. [Main Library] “A very absorbing mix of crime fiction and fantasy – though strong language and violence content make it unsuitable for younger readers.” ~Robert B.

Mystery

  • Robert B. Parker’s the Hangman’s Sonnet, by Reed Farrel Coleman. [Main Library] “The next installment in Robert B. Parker’s Jesse Stone series Jesse Stone learns that while Rock ‘n’ Roll never dies, it still gets people killed, even in Paradise…….” ~John D.

Children’s Easy Books

  • There’s a Giraffe In My Soup, by Ross Burach. [Main Library] “A fun and cute book for adults and kids, involving a host of zoo animals at a restaurant. Waiter! There’s a giraffe in my soup!” ~Heather
  • The Day the Crayons Quit, by Drew Daywalt. [Palm View Branch] “A colorful problem … what will the solution be?” ~Maria O.
  • Stack the Cats, by Susie Ghahremani. [Palm View Branch] “One cat sleeps, two cats play, three cats stack!” ~Maria O.

Children’s Non-fiction

  • Good Food For You, by Karen Ingebretsen. [Palm View Branch] “In a time when health is very important, this resource will help you show children good foods for them.” ~Joanna B.
  • William Butler Yeats, by W.B. Yeats. [Main Library] “A wonderful introduction to Yeats, beautifully illustrated with oil paintings by Glenn Harrington.” ~Erin

e-Books

  • The Thousandth Floor, by Katharine McGee. [Electronic Branch] “This futuristic YA novel is a great escape from the real world. It takes place about 100 years in the future, after humanity is already suffering the effects of global warming. The main characters are a group of teenagers who live in a thousand-floor skyscraper in NYC, where Central Park used to be. The higher the floor, the richer the people who live there. Secrets, intrigue, and advanced technology ensue.” ~Julia

Spanish Nonfiction

  • Reimaginar la vida, by Barbara Bradley Hagerty. [Main Library] “Este libro nos demuestra que lo que se ha dado en llamar la “crisis de la mediana edad” no existe. Es un mito, una ilusion.” ~Ema
  • Supertú, by Emily V. Gordon. [Main Library]  “Con un estilo inigualable, Gordon se vale de cómics, videojuegos y referencias nerds de la cultura pop para entender cómo enfrentamos la vida diaria.” ~Ema

Nonfiction

  • I Can’t Breath, by Matt Taibbi. [Lark Branch] “I thought the author told the story well.” ~Sean
  • Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, by Dee Brown. [Palm View Branch]  “An important and dark telling of American history that should never be forgotten, but with respect towards the native peoples who sacrificed so much during the development of this nation.” ~Rolando

CD/DVD’s

  • Starboy, by Weeknd. [Palm View Branch] “For those that like new music Starboy is by the weeknd and is a good CD to hear.” ~Joanna B.
  • Discover Microsoft Word 2016, [Palm View Branch] “Perfect way to learn Microsoft Word at your own pace for beginners and advanced students.” ~Veronica
  • Discover Microsoft Excel 2016, [Palm View Branch] “Whether you’re keeping a budget, organizing a training log, or creating an invoice, Excel makes it easy to work with different types of data.” ~Veronica

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s