January Staff Recommendations

Come on by your favorite MPL location and enjoy the latest selection of books, CD’s and DVD’s recommended by our dedicated staff!

January Staff Recommendations

Fiction
  • Robert B. Parker’s Angel Eyes, by Ace Atkins. [Palm View Branch] “In Hollywood, all that glitters isn’t gold. And not all those who wander are lost.” ~John D.
  • The Water Cure, by Sophie Mackintosh. [Main Library] “Most dystopias use fire as destruction of the world; this one uses the ocean, family rituals, and psychological games to set the tone of this eerie tale.” ~Alison
  • Vicious, by Victoria Schwab. [Main Library] “The book has a unique take on the popular superhero genre and the way the story unfolds by jumping around between the past and present to slowly reveal the full truth of the situation to the reader adds to its entertainment value.” ~Robert B.

Kanopy

  • The Love Witch, by Anna Biller. [Electronic Branch] “Dark, wicked, brutal, and lovely.” ~Alison

DVD/CD

  • Empire, [Palm View Branch] “Interesting show, very powerful.” ~Yolanda
  • Cold In July, by Jim Mickle. [Main Library] “Texas/southern noir with lots of twists and turns, adapted from the book by Texas author Joe R. Lonsdale.” ~John D.
  • Sinfónico, by José José. [Main Library] “This homage to one of Mexico’s greatest musicians, José José, brings back the nostalgia of his stardom in the 1970’s-80’s.” ~Priscilla

Non-Fiction

Teen Graphic Novels

  • The Count of Monte Cristo, by Ena Moriyama. [Palm View Branch] “A literally classic novel with a twist done as a graphic novel in manga style.” ~Verónica

Children’s Easy Books

  • Lemonade in Winter, by Emily Jenkins. [Palm View Branch] “Lemon, lemon, lime… Fifty cents a cup!” ~Maria O.
  • Kindness is Magic, by Dubravka Kolanovic . [Palm View Branch] “Being kind is nice and friendly. Beautiful words and pictures. Children will love and know what kindness is.” ~Stephany
  • Again!, by Emily Gravett. [Palm View Branch] “A book that you want to read over and over again. The best part is that there are nice dragons!” ~Stephany

Children’s Non-Fiction

Children’s Biography

  • What Was Your Dream, Dr. King?, by Mary Kay Carson. [Main Library] “If your kids have questions about Martin Luther King Jr. and why we celebrate him in January, this book has the answers, worded for children to easily understand. If you’re looking for more about this great civil rights leader, check out the display in MPL Kids.” ~Heather

Children’s Fiction

  • Star Wars: A New Hope, by Alexandra Bracken. [Palm View Branch] “This story begins as so many do: a long, long time ago.” ~Marianela
  • The Voyage to Magical North, by Claire Fayers. [Main Library] “Do you like pirates? Adventure? Magic? Giant squids? If you answered yes to any of these, this charming middle grade book is right up your alley! Great for kids and grown-ups alike.” ~Heather
  • Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back: So You Want to Be a Jedi?, by Adam Gidwitz. [Palm View Branch] “It seems cool. You can move things with your mind.” ~Marianela
  • ¡Menudo asco, Otto Terremoto!, by Alan MacDonald. [Palm View Branch] “Todavia no conoces al niño mas revoltoso del planeta?” ~Maria O.

Children’s Graphic Novels

  • Estranged, by Ethan Aldridge [Palm View Branch] “A changeling and a human child who were switched at birth and must now work together to save both their worlds. Perfect for fans of Amulet.” ~Rolando
  • White Bird, by R.J. Palacio. [Palm View] “A young Jewish girl, hidden by a family in a Nazi-occupied French village during World War II and how the boy she and her classmates once shunned became her savior and best friend.” ~Rolando

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s